Coconut lime veggie soup

She put the lime in the coconut, she drank them both together…

20140409-164232.jpg

I live in Japan. And there are some phenomenal places to eat here. Recently my husband and I stumbled upon this amazing sandwich joint. Before they bring us some seriously kick-ass sandwiches, they brought us a bowl of soup as an appetizer. It was coconut-y. It was lime-y. It had veggies in little tiny bites. However, sitting at the bottom of the bowl I found little pieces of what used to be a piggy. Not cool, bro. So I decided to duplicate this soup, but leaving my friends the pigs out of the recipe. I was too afraid to ask the cook for the recipe, and I couldn’t find any I liked on the Internet (so often the case). So I sat down and created my own. Now that its been husband approved, I’m sharing it with the world.

20130529-103717.jpg

Coconut lime soup

One small carrot, diced
One large yellow onion, diced
Four cloves garlic, diced
One or two stalks celery, diced
1- 1&1/2 cups mushrooms (any kind, I’ve used baby Bella and enoki), sliced
1 yellow or red bell pepper, diced
One cup water
One cup veggie stock
Two cans coconut milk
Juice of three limes
Zest of three limes, divided
Cilantro, to taste
Sea salt & pepper, to taste

In a soup pot, sautée onion, carrot, celery, and bell pepper until soft. I cooked them in about a tablespoon and a half of coconut oil. You could use olive oil or vegan butter, but for this recipe (not to mention the added health benefits of coconut oil) I used the CO. It smells liked candy when it’s cooking. Anyways… Add garlic, cook another minute. Add coconut milk, water, veggie stock, lime juice, half the lime zest, and mushrooms, cook on medium-high for 15 minutes. Put on low, add the remaining zest, cilantro (if using), salt and pepper. Taste test and add more/less ingredients as needed (don’t be a wuss on the garlic, if it needs more garlic feel free to get crazy with it). Serve. I garnished with a lime wedge and fresh cilantro, because I like to think I’m fancy like that. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

