Chocolate chip cookies- veganized

20130530-145851.jpg

Chocolate chip cookies. A sinful addiction that began long ago for me. Crispy outside, gooey inside, melted chocolate, butter and sugar with just a hint of salt… I’m drooling. Originally when I started to make vegan things in my very humble military issued kitchen, I didn’t actually do any baking. One day my husband decided we should make cookies and he googled a recipe. (I know, I know, he is so helpful.) So we made the recipe. The problem with that recipe was that it asked for an entire cup of vegan butter. Not that I minded, honestly, because if you’re going to eat a dessert sometimes you should just go all out. However, it’s annoying to use that much for cost reasons. Therefore, I have created my own recipe which uses less butter and has a few extra surprises I’m a fan of. Like carob chips instead of dark chocolate chips. If you don’t have carob chips available, it’s cool. You can use dark chocolate (the kind with no milk). But carob chips… Yeah, they’re the bomb diggity. So now that I’m finished babbling on (and drooling), you can read the recipe. And by the way, they’re delicious. You’re welcome.

Rachel’s chocolate chip cookies

2& 1/4 cups whole wheat unbleached flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup vegan butter
1/2 cup applesauce
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup organic cane sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 flax “eggs” (directions below)
1 cup vegan chocolate chips (I use organic carob chips I find here in Japan, because they’re simply the bomb, you can use whatever)

Directions are simple. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients. Mix together, scoop 1 inch spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet and bake for 8-11 minutes until golden brown. Personally, I serve these up with some ice cold almond milk as pictured below. I hope you enjoy them as much as my husband and I do. Also, you can roll these up in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer to bake whenever. Or to just have the dough ready to eat uncooked. Which I am very guilty of. Enjoy!

20130530-151447.jpg

About the flax “egg” – A flax egg is 1 tablespoon of flax meal mixed with 3 tablespoons of water. So, for this recipe you’ll need 2 tablespoons of flax and six tablespoons of water mixed together in a cup and left to sit for at least 2 minutes. I use flax meal from Bobs red mill. Flax meal is basically just ground up flax seeds. Flax seeds (which always remind me of Holly Flax from the office) are SO nutritious. You can read about them here:
flax seed nutritional value

One thought on “Chocolate chip cookies- veganized

Leave a Reply

