Black bean mushroom burgers

20130531-122536.jpg

Once you go black bean burger, you never go back. At least, that’s what happened to me. This was the very first vegan thing I ever made. I made it for a girl I know here on Okinawa who was the one who sort of opened the door to veganism for me. The 2nd burger picture that is down below actually was taken by her. After hearing about her journey I started researching the vegan diet and lifestyle, and decided to make her dinner. I whipped up some black bean burgers and TA-DA! They were delicious. And now, here we are nine months later and I have a blog where I post my vegan food crap. So here’s my black bean burger recipe, and it is pretty fantastic if I do say so myself.

Black bean burgers

Serves 5-6 (I ate the leftovers like a champ, it was pretty awesome)

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed very well
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 of a yellow onion, diced
1/2 cup of mushrooms, finely diced
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 flax “egg” (1 tablespoon flax meal with three tablespoons water, let sit for two minutes. You can find flax meal in the baking section… Usually)
1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used Panko)
Few dashes of adobo seasoning (optional, but seriously that stuff is delicious, it’s a staple in our house)
1 teaspoon sriricha or hot sauce of choice (also optional, but deelish)
Oil or vegan butter of choice, for
pan cooking

In a pan, cook the onions on medium. I cooked them with vegan butter, but oil would work to. When translucent, add garlic and mushrooms and cook until mushrooms are tender. Add these ingredients to a food processor, blender, or a bowl (be prepared for super messy hands if you’re using a bowl and your fingers, like I did the first time I made this). Add the rest of the ingredients and mix. If you’re using a food processor or blender you should really only need a few pulses/seconds. Don’t over mix and make paste out of it, make sure its chunky. If the mixture is too dry, add a tablespoon or two of water as needed. Form into patties with your hands. Heat oil or butter in your pan over medium heat again. Cook your burgers, flipping once, until cooked on both sides and through the middle. It takes about 10 minutes total. I cooked one pattie at a time and left my oven on warm to keep them toasty, but you could skip all that and just do your burgers in about two batches. I like to serve them up on whole organic wheat buns with organic agave ketchup (yum), hummus, avocado, bell peppers, tomato, spinach…. Possibilities are really endless for these bad boys. Get crazy with it. And enjoy!

20130531-122725.jpg

Leave a Reply

