Strawberry shortcake gets veganized

20130602-222215.jpg

Strawberry shortcake is very special to me. My parents used to make it together when I was a kid. It’s very dear to me and my siblings. I grew up in Florida and the strawberries there are perfect. Everything about strawberry shortcake was perfect. Recently my husband and I went produce shopping and found three perfect little boxes of strawberries. The first thing that came to mind was being five years old at the dining room table (the one I colored all over), and waiting for the family’s favorite dessert. When I started making vegan stuff, baking was out of the question because I thought I was a terrible baker. Now I know the truth: I can bake strawberry shortcake just like my parents and its 100% vegan, cruelty free, and delicious. This by far is my proudest culinary accomplishment yet. I can only hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I have my whole life!

20140126-221714.jpg

Strawberry shortcake

Strawberry portion-
4 cups of strawberries
3 tablespoons of sugar
2 tablespoons agave nectar (or just honey, if you’re not a vegan)

Shortcake portion-
2 cups whole wheat flour (or regular flour, but I like whole wheat)
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups coconut milk (the kind that comes from the can)
2 tsps baking powder
2 Tbsps sugar

Coconut whipped cream-
1 can full fat coconut milk chilled overnight in the fridge
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp powdered cane sugar
Note- you need to leave your mixing bowl in the fridge for at least a few hours prior to whipping the cream. This will keep it from melting.

First things first, put your coconut milk in the fridge to chill overnight.

The next day you’ll want to start on the strawberries. De-stem them and slice them. I cut them into 4 or five slices each. I may have eaten one… Or ten. Then add your sugar and agave. You could add 100% agave to this instead of the sugar. I only did some sugar because that’s how my mom used to do it. Mix up the strawberries with the sweeteners and put in the fridge to chill for at least 30 minutes. They’ll absorb the sugar and create their own juices, it’s like magic.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
For the cake, mix the dry ingredients thoroughly, then make a well in the middle and add the can of coconut milk and mix. I recommend using an electric hand mixer or stand mixer since the dough is pretty sticky, it’s too difficult to just use a spoon. Bring out the hardware! Next, grease your baking dish of choice. I personally used an 8×8 glass baking dish, you could use cupcake tins or a 9×11. Because I used the eight by eight, my cake came out very thick, and I cut the pieces in half.
Anyways, pour the batter into your greased pan and cook for 18-25 minutes until golden brown. I say 18-25 because it really depends on your oven. My oven is crappy so it takes longer than a proper oven would. Keep an eye on yours.

While the cake is baking, put together your coconut milk whipped cream. Open the can and scoop out the cream part on top into your chilled bowl. Don’t use the water that’s on the bottom. You can save it for soups or smoothies or just drink it straight, but don’t use it in the whipped cream. Add the vanilla and the sugar, and whip with an electric hand mixer or stand mixer for about 5-10 minutes until fluffy. My first time making this I actually was so excited that it worked that my friend snapped this picture of me dancing with glee. (Please, pardon my hair.)

20130602-222424.jpg

When everything is ready, cut your cake and top with the cold strawberries and whipped cream. Eat it. When it’s gone, lick the plates. Enjoy!

20130602-222514.jpg

2 thoughts on “Strawberry shortcake gets veganized

Leave a Reply

