Vegan banana bread

20130808-194836.jpg

I seriously love banana bread. And I don’t even like bananas that much. I eat bananas, don’t get me wrong. They’re very good for you. But as far as their texture and flavor, they don’t do anything for me. Nutritionally they do tons. My mom makes many awesome things, and banana bread is one of those things. So once again I set out to veganize a childhood favorite. And I passed with flying colors. My husband loves this banana bread. I love this banana bread so much, it’s basically all I had for dinner. I recommend eating something with more nutrients for your dinner, although as far as this bread goes it does have some good qualities. It’s got two bananas, two tablespoons of flax meal, almond milk. That stuff is good for you at least. (Just for now, ignore the fact that there’s a cup of sugar in this recipe.) See? Don’t you feel healthier?
You know what else I love? Star Wars. A friend of mine just came back to the island from Tokyo and brought me this shirt as an awesome birthday present. I wore it today while baking and dedicated this banana bread to Chewie. 🙂

20130808-194921.jpg

Chewbaca banana bread
Ingredients
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 over ripe bananas, (like super brown ones)
1 Tablespoon agave nectar (optional)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 flax eggs (a flax egg is 1 tablespoon of flax meal mixed with 3 tablespoons of water)
1/2 cup non dairy milk (I used almond)
1/2 cup of non dairy butter (I use Smart Balance organic)
1/3 cup of vegan chocolate chips (I use carob chips)

Instructions
Preheat your oven to 350. In one bowl, mix the dry ingredients together. Make a well in the middle and add the rest of the ingredients. Mix together thoroughly. I recommend using a hand or stand mixer. Add the batter to a greased bread pan. Bake for 60-70 minutes. The top may become dark, but that’s totally normal. The inside is very dense and delicious and not burnt at all.

20130808-195035.jpg

Enjoy! I know I did. Half of the loaf is already gone… But don’t tell anyone. And also, may the force be with you.

2 thoughts on “Vegan banana bread

Leave a Reply

