Avocado Cream Sauce

20131021-190821.jpg

I love pasta. It’s my weakness. It’s my desert island food. It’s my last meal if I were on death row. It’s something I’ll never give up, and it’s probably the only reason I would not be able to adapt the “raw” lifestyle. Zucchini noodles and spaghetti squash are good, but pasta is better than anything. I can eat it plain with just some butter and fresh garlic. (As long as that butter is vegan butter, of course). But sometimes shit in my kitchen gets a little fancier, and that’s when this avocado cream sauce happened.

Avocado cream sauce
Makes about two cups

1 large avocado
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 a green onion (green parts only)
1/2 a lemon, juice and zest
1/4 cup fresh basil
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 1/2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
Sprinkle of turmeric (optional)

Mix everything in a blender (I used my magic bullet) until thoroughly incorporated. Serve over your pasta of choice! Add sautéed onions, roasted mushrooms, or go my route and use some cherry tomatoes and green onions. It’s yum, no matter what you choose! Enjoy!

One thought on “Avocado Cream Sauce

Leave a Reply

