Vegan curried squash, coconut milk, lentil soup

20131102-135940.jpg

I never tried any type of curry until I moved to Japan. There is a restaurant here that’s very popular called Coco’s, and they make curry that makes my husband swoon. I’ve tried many types of curry since we’ve been here, and by far my favorite is thai curry. But I haven’t attempted that yet. I’m getting to it, I just have to work up the courage because thai curry is so delicious and complex, and I hate making food that’s sub par.

So I was on a mission to make curry that would make my husband swoon like he does for cocos. I needed some guidance. Normally I’m good at figuring out recipes on my own, but curry is foreign territory for me. My mother had sent me a cookbook called The Vegetarian Slow Cooker by Judith Finlayson. There’s a recipe in it for curried squash and red lentil soup with coconut. I decided to attempt it, change a few things, and see what would happen. And many things happened. For one thing, it made my house smell like angels and happiness. And the other thing it did was make my husband fall in love with me all over again. So here’s my spin on Judith’s recipe, and I definitely recommend picking up her book.

Ingredients
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 cup red lentils
4 cups veggie stock
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can coconut milk
1/2 a roasted butternut squash, cubed
2 onions, sliced
7 cloves of garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried ginger
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground black peppercorns
2 tablespoons curry powder
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup lemon juice

Instructions
This is a great one pot meal. I just put very thing into the crockpot, gave it a stir, cooked it on high for 4 and a half hours in the crockpot, and served with fresh cilantro. It was seriously perfect. If you know how to make naan bread, you should serve it with naan bread. I just made garlic toast instead. Either way, the soup is delicious and you can’t go wrong. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Vegan curried squash, coconut milk, lentil soup

Leave a Reply

