Buckwheat soba soup

It has been quite some time since my last post! My apologies. I’d say I’ve been busy, but since my last post I’ve watched every episode of homeland and I read at least three books. I return to you a wiser blogger and better vegan, however. I successfully hosted and created an entire vegan thanksgiving meal from scratch.

20131220-164156.jpg

So here I am, back with a great recipe that I’m excited to share with you. Whilst shopping recently in the Asian section of the grocery store I came across buckwheat noodles and dried shiitake mushrooms. I decided to make a soup using the two, assumed it would be fairly mediocre and just enough warmth to defrost my toes, as it was a dreary, disgusting day outside and I was rain soaked. So I went home and threw in a little of this, a little of that… And suddenly I made an amazing bowl of awesomeness. Don’t you love when that happens? You’re not even trying to make something awesome and then suddenly you find yourself eating half of it and barely leaving any leftovers for your husband. Be prepared to use both chopsticks and a spoon while eating this. It’s one of those meals.

Buckwheat soba soup
Serves 4 as a dinner, 8 as a side

5 cups of water
3 cups mushroom stock
6 whole dried shiitake mushrooms, cut into strips with kitchen scissors
8 cloves of garlic, minced
2 cups kale, shredded
2 cups shelled edamame
1/2 block of extra firm tofu, diced
3 tablespoons sesame oil, divided
3 tablespoons of nori
10 ounces of buckwheat noodles
1/3 cup white miso
4 tablespoons of soy sauce
2 green onions, whites and greens

Instructions
Sauté the garlic in your soup pot with one tablespoon of the sesame oil for about three minutes. Next, add the water, broth, and shiitake mushrooms. Bring to a boil and then simmer for about fifteen minutes. Next add the noodles, the nori, and the edamame, bring to a boil then cook on medium for about ten minutes. Turn the heat to low, then add the rest of the ingredients, and give it a stir. Your soup is done! Enjoy!

20131220-170502.jpg

Leave a Reply

