Double chocolate vegan muffins

20140103-201824.jpg

Who doesn’t like muffins? The kind you eat, not that nasty thing that happens to your waist when you wear tight pants. I’ve always had a huge chocolate addiction, and I love chocolate muffins. Then I went vegan in a small Japanese island and thought I’d never find any vegan muffins. I was wrong, there’s a great little bakery about fifteen minutes away from here that makes delicious vegan muffins that are usually topped with fruit. My favorite is their chocolate persimmon muffin. Wow! It’s incredible. The only problem is they are very expensive. Sometimes, as a vegan, I justify buying expensive things because I don’t know how to make them at home. But alas, I am my mothers daughter and baking runs in my blood. I know how to bake up a batch of delicious, cruelty free muffins. So I decided to get down to business and satisfy my craving in the comfort of my own home whilst wearing my Star Wars pajamas and watch lord of the rings. And now I bring you a recipe for a muffin so moist and delicious, it’ll make you want to break out in song.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour (I use organic, whole wheat, unbleached)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cacao, cocoa, or carob powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 cup vegan chocolate chunks or chocolate chips
1/2 cup melted coconut or vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups applesauce
2 vanilla beans, or 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract (I liked the beans better)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a muffin pan or line one with cupcake liners. (Funny story, I don’t have a normal sized muffin tin. I only have an extra large one. They don’t sell liners here on this island big enough for my giant muffin tin, so I just grease up a pan and move on.) Mix your dry ingredients in one bowl and your wet in another. Make a well in the middle of your dry ingredients, add the wet, and mix slowly with a hand mixer. Add the batter to each muffin hole thingy until it’s about 2/3 of the way full (if it goes over don’t freak out like I did and make an enormous mess). Bake for 25-28 minutes or until a toothpick (or a chop stick, in my case, since I’m out of toothpicks) that you stab the muffins with comes out batter-free. Let cool, don’t burn you’re fingers, and enjoy!

20140103-201925.jpg

7 thoughts on “Double chocolate vegan muffins

    • Oh. My. Gosh. I somehow forgot to list the most important ingredient… The cocoa powder. Thank you for bringing it to my attention, that was a major brain malfunction on my part! I’ve fixed the recipe. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

