Vegan Thai green curry

IMG_1749.JPG

You ever cook something and think “wow, this is terrible!” And consider never cooking again? Alternatively, have you ever made something in the kitchen and said to yourself “wow, I am awesome!” ? Well, both of those things happened to me this week.

This week I attempted to make vegan pho, the same kind Kiwa from Dechibica makes. It didn’t go well. I had to throw the whole thing away. I ended up eating one of those pre-packaged vegan soups by Dr. McDougall. Don’t get me wrong, I like those. But I prefer a home cooked meal. I’ve never had a dish that I love more than Kiwa’s pho. So when I tried to recreate it and failed miserably, I almost thought I’d quit cooking. Then I decided I needed a good dish. Just one good dish. If I could make up a dish from scratch using what I know, I could continue cooking.

So that’s when I decided to use a little jar of green curry, combine it with what I know about making curry, add some rice noodles and create something I would be proud of. And you know what? It worked! When I asked my husband to rate it out of 1-10, he gave it a 10.5.

It’s easy to make, it’s insanely delicious, and it’s perfect for a cold winters night.

Ingredients
2 Tbs green curry paste
1 can coconut milk (top cream part only, not the water)
1 & 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
3 cloves of minced garlic
1 sliced white or yellow onion
1 & 1/2 Tbs coconut oil 3 cups veggie broth
5 kafir lime leaves
2 tablespoons soy sauce

8 oz rice noodles or rice, for serving

Instructions
In a large pot, sauté the onions in the coconut oil for about two minutes. Add the garlic and mushrooms, sauté for two more minutes. Add the curry paste and sauté for a minute, then add the two cups of veggie broth and the kafir lime leaves. Bring soup to a simmer. Once it’s fragrant and the lime leaves have released their flavors, remove them and discard. Add the coconut milk and soy sauce, then bring to a simmer and let it cook for about five minutes. Remove from the heat and serve with rice noodles or rice. You can do a different kind of noodles if you want, sometimes I use somebody noodles instead of rice noodles. You could also add some carrots, spinach, or bok choy. It’s easy to make it your own.   I hope you enjoy this as much as we did! 🙂

One thought on “Vegan Thai green curry

Leave a Reply

