Coconut, Chickpea & Kale Curry

10257768_919156591450447_1526135543761530143_n

I know, I know. I do a LOT of curry recipes on this blog. I can’t help it. I lived in Okinawa where curry is everywhere. While living there I tried Japanese curry, Indian curry, Turkish curry, Thai curry… Probably more than that but I can’t remember. Curry is awesome. That’s why I do so many recipes revolving around curry.

Now first off, I have to tell you this isn’t exactly an original RCV recipe, it’s derived from my cooking course I’m currently taking through Rouxbe (which is AWESOME, by the way). Now I’ve changed quite a few things from their recipe, and decided to share it with you. Originally the dish was just coconut braised chickpeas and spinach. I turned it into coconut braised chickpea curry with kale, because I love curry with coconut milk and I hate cooked spinach. I also took out some other things I didn’t like in the recipe from the course, such as fresh ginger. What can I say? I’ll always be a little bit picky. I’ll never like fresh ginger, raw carrots, cooked spinach, or okra. But the beauty about learning to cook with plants is it is SO versatile! Adapting a recipe is no problem.

So without further babbling…

11024709_919156571450449_4311083024375245395_n

Coconut, Chickpea & Kale Curry

Ingredients
1 yellow onion
4 cloves garlic
Zest and juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes (dried, not jarred)
1 15 ounce can of chickpeas
2 tsp chili flakes
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 – 14 oz can coconut milk
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 cup of kale
1/2 teaspoon of curry powder
1 tablespoon of soy sauce
salt and pepper, to taste
Optional garnish – cilantro

Instructions
Prep work- first dice the onion and mince the garlic and ginger. Next, zest the lemon. Juice the lemon and save for later. Measure out the sun-dried tomatoes and cut into small strips or cubes. Drain & rinse the chickpeas. Measure out the chili flakes and coconut oil.

Getting down to business- Heat a sauté pan over medium heat. Add the oil, followed by the onions. Sweat the onions for about 10 minutes (cook over no more than medium heat without browning). Once soft, add the garlic and ginger powder and cook for another minute. Add in the sun-dried tomatoes, lemon zest and chili flakes. Let cook for another minute. Turn up the heat and add the chickpeas and stir to coat in the mixture. Cook for a few minutes. Once the chickpeas are heated through, add in the kale a handful at a time. Lastly, add the coconut milk, curry powder, and soy sauce and bring to a simmer. Stir and a add bit of the reserved lemon juice. Taste for seasoning and add more lemon juice, salt and pepper as needed. At this point I also added dried turmeric just for color and nutritional purposes, but it adds no flavor to the dish so it can be omitted. Once everything has heated through, serve it up with any grain you like, even quinoa would work. I usually use jasmine rice. Garnish each plate with a some fresh cilantro if you wish and enjoy.

One thought on “Coconut, Chickpea & Kale Curry

Leave a Reply

